As a centre for choreographic practice and research, K3 offers different types of residencies providing choreographers with space, time and support to work, experiment and exchange ideas with other artists.

In 2007, K3 began its main residency programme, which each year provides three choreographers with a chance to work on site for eight months. Usually this working period runs from August to April and the programme is intended for choreographers currently still the beginning of their professional careers, but who have already produced some choreographic work of their own. The goal of the programme is to provide time and space for artistic research based on a project proposal that culminates in a full-length production at the end of the residency. Choreographers-in-residence receive a monthly allowance, a production budget, mentoring, dramaturgical support, and opportunities to acquire additional skills and qualifications. The deadline for applications for the residency programme is usually in summer. For more information on who can apply and what is required, please go to: Calls for Applications

Moreover, there are various thematic residency formats, some of which artists can apply for separately and some of which are linked to K3's education and training programmes.

Depending on the space available, K3 also invites artists to apply for rehearsal space residencies usually in spring and summer for choreographic research or specific rehearsal phases for dance productions. These residencies exclusively cover the use of a studio. Studio use is only granted for periods of at least one week at a time and not on an hourly or daily basis.

Moreover, K3 also collaborates with artists and partner institutions to create further residency and work formats, which so far include the Tour d’Europe des Chorégraphes, Treffen Total, Surviving Dance and Ping-Pong.

Calls for applications for residencies are announced on this website, in the K3 Newsletter and in K3's programme booklet.

Keyvisual

Als Ort choreographischer Praxis und Forschung bietet K3 verschiedene Residenzformate an, die ChoreographInnen Raum, Zeit und Unterstützung bieten, um auch unabhängig von der Realisierung einer Produktion arbeiten, forschen und in künstlerischen Austausch treten zu können.

Seit 2007 vergibt K3 jedes Jahr eine jeweils acht Monate umfassende Residenz an drei ChoreographInnen. Das Residenzprogramm dauert in der Regel von August bis April und richtet sich an ChoreographInnen, die am Beginn ihrer beruflichen Karriere stehen und bereits erste eigene choreographische Arbeiten realisiert haben. Ziel ist es, auf Grundlage eines Arbeitsvorhabens Zeit und Raum für künstlerische Recherche und Forschung zu eröffnen, die zum Abschluss der Residenz in eine abendfüllende Produktion mündet. Das Residenzprogramm beinhaltet u.a. ein Stipendium sowie ein Produktionsbudget, Mentoring, dramaturgische Unterstützung und Qualifizierungsangebote. Die Ausschreibung für das Residenzprogramm erfolgt in der Regel im Sommer. Unter Ausschreibungen gibt es eine Übersicht der Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen.

Zudem gibt es temporäre, thematisch spezifische Kurzresidenzformate, die gesondert ausgeschrieben werden. Weitere Kurzresidenzen werden ohne Ausschreibung von K3 programmiert und sind mit dem Kurs- und Vermittlungsprogramm verknüpft.

Nach Maßgabe freier Raumkapazitäten vergibt K3 zudem in der Regel im Frühjahr und Sommer im Rahmen einer Ausschreibung Probenraumresidenzen für Probenphasen von Tanzproduktionen sowie choreographische Arbeitsprozesse. Probenraumresidenzen umfassen ausschließlich die Nutzung eines Studios. Die Studios werden nur für Zeiträume von mindestens einer Woche en bloc vergeben, eine tage- oder stundenweise Nutzung ist nicht möglich.

In Kooperation mit KünstlerInnen und Partnerinstitutionen entwickelt K3 zudem jeweils spezifische Residenz- und Arbeitsformate. Bisher waren dies z.B. Tour d’Europe des Chorégraphes, Treffen Total, Surviving Dance oder Ping-Pong.

Residenzen werden auf dieser Homepage, im K3-Newsletter und im Programmheft ausgeschrieben.